Higher Diploma in Tourism Management (Culinary)

Introduction
Higher Diploma in Tourism Management (Culinary), This programme is specializing in providing vocational and professional training in catering and culinary service. With the Qualifications Framework QF Level 4, graduates can pursue professional recognitions which help them up a step on the career ladder.
This HDTM programme aims at offering essential and extensive operational knowledge in Food and Beverage industry, from basic tactics to supervisory concepts, especially in the segment of western culinary. 
Professional Qualification

The Division of Tourism & Hospitality of Hong Kong College of Technology is recognised as:

  • Allied Member of Hong Kong Association of Travel Agents
  • International Scheme Member of Institute of Hospitality Education Membership Scheme
  • Regional Member of The Network of Asia-Pacific Education and Training Institutes in Tourism (APETIT)
Contents

Programme Contents

This programme is designed to meet industry demand by providing vocational and professional training in catering and culinary service. This encompasses the development of high levels of practical skills and an ability to deal with complex issues both systematically and creatively. With the Qualifications Framework QF Level 4, graduates can pursue professional recognitions which help them up a step on the career ladder.

This programme (non-laboratory-based) is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2021/22 cohort, a subsidy of up to $22,050 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student.

 

Programme Features

  • Students have the opportunity to be nominated to participate in culinary competition and networking activities where they can enhance their level of culinary profession and broaden horizons
  • Well-equipped Food and Beverage Training Centre (Inclusive of Integrated Training Restaurant, Production and Training Kitchen, Culinary Practice Lab) for professional training of catering and culinary skills
  • Students are eligible to apply for Food Hygiene Manager Certificate Course to obtain professional qualifications
  • Not less than 600 hours of internship, allowing students to learn from the actual working environment, increasing competitiveness and acceptance after graduation
  • Strong industry and employer networks help connect and build platforms between students and the industry which enhance student employability
  • Graduates can pursue a bachelor's degree programme in related disciplines

 

Featured Modules

  • Culinary Skill Development
  • Patisserie and Dessert
  • Gastronomy and Nutrition
  • Food Theory
  • Food and Beverage Management
  • Food Service and Production Operation
  • Internship (at least 600 hours)

Articulation Path

Graduates are eligible to apply for:

  • A related bachelor’s degree programme at University College Birmingham in the UK;
  • Related bachelor’s degree programmes offered by local or overseas universities.

 

Career Prospects

Graduates may join the field of tourism and hospitality, which covers hotels, private clubs, restaurant groups, convention and exhibition organizers, theme parks, and relevant organizations.

The programme offers a wide range of internship opportunities for students to work in the international hotels, catering organizations, convention and exhibition centres, restaurants, private clubs, theme parks or relevant organizations. Students who perform well may be offered full-time positions by the enterprises.

Mode of Study

Full Time

Teaching Mode

Face to face (Classes may need to be conducted via online platform depending on epidemic for the sake of students’ safety)

Commencement of Study

September 2021

Duration

2 Years

Location
Entry Requirements
  • Successful completion of Secondary 6 (Level 2 in 5 HKDSE subjects*#) ; or
  • Successful completion of Secondary 7 (1 pass in HKAL or 2 passes in HKAS Level subjects; and 5 passes in HKCEE*); or
  • Holder of Diploma for Tertiary Studies; or
  • Holder of Yi Jin Diploma; or
  • Holder of Pre-Associate Degree / Diploma; or
  • Aged 21 or above with at least 1 year working experience; or
  • Equivalent qualifications; And
  • Pass in admission interview.

* Including Chinese Language and English Language

# At most two Applied Learning subjects achieved a level of "Attained" or above would be considered on a case-by-case basis

Lewis Walker
Chef Lecturer in Culinary Arts Management, University College Birmingham

Mr. Lewis Walker holds the Master Degree in Culinary Arts Management, as well as Postgraduate Diploma in Education. He initially worked as a Chef within the food and beverage industry and he undertakes his Culinary Arts Management Degree afterwards. Since graduating, he has worked in, run, and owned a number of businesses across the catering industry, from restaurants, hotels and bars, to contract catering units, private chef and private conference and banqueting. Finally, he then chose to return to studying, which in turn led to employment at the University College Birmingham, where he now works as a Culinary Arts Management Chef Lecturer and Year Manager. Mr. Lewis Walker later completes the Master Degree for further developing his knowledge and understanding of culinary arts management and the associated environment as well as a critical awareness of current issues and new insights in the area of own professional practice.

Year 1: $54,707 Year 2: $60,145

This programme is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2021/2022 academic year, a subsidy of up to $22,050 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this non-laboratory-based programme. The first-year tuition fee after subsidy is $32,657. HKCT offers the lowest tuition fee of first year after deduction of SSSDP maximum subsidy when comparing with other institutions’ higher diploma programmes in the same discipline.

資歷架構級別
The qualification of this programme is recognised under the Qualifications Framework in Hong Kong.
QF level:4
QR Registration No.:17/000624/L4
Registration Validity Period:1/9/2017 to 31/8/2023
Tang Yuk Ting 
"In this two-year programme, apart from the cooking knowledge and skills taught in the classroom, HKCT also provided me with different ways to enrich my culinary knowledge and professional skills. Through the sharing and culinary workshop taught by professional industrial chefs and oversea visiting chefs, I have broadened my horizon by demonstration of the specialties of authentic dishes and traditional cooking techniques in different gastronomies. Furthermore, through the experiential learning activities organized by the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center (HKCEC Hospitality Experience Program) and the Hong Kong Tourism Board (Hong Kong Wine & Dine Festival), they allowed me learning more about the development of the Hong Kong’s catering industry, as well as my personal career path.
Meanwhile, through planning and participating in the culinary event (We cook, We cater, We care) for an elderly home, not only could enrich my knowledge in catering and event management, but also allow me to understand more about different special dietary needs of client and the tactics in designing menu for different target groups in future.

The internship opportunity allowed me learning more from the actual working environment, and increasing my competitiveness and acceptance after graduation. I got the valuable opportunity to work in one international hotel chain, Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, which not only enriched my culinary skills, but also gave me a chance of applying knowledge I learnt from HKCT into this global hotel group.
Through the extensive range of experiential learning activities, this Higher Diploma programme provided me with vocational direction and fostered me to further develop my professionalism in culinary and catering sector by articulating to relevant bachelor degree programme."

Hong Kong College of Technology reserves the right of cancellation of programme and granting offer without prior notice.
All tuition fees are to be reviewed and adjusted every year.
This programme is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2021/2022 academic year, a subsidy of up to $22,050 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this non-laboratory-based programme. The first-year tuition fee after subsidy is $32,657. Only local students are eligible for the subsidy under SSSDP.

旅游业管理高级文凭(西式厨艺)

简单课程介绍
旅游业管理高级文凭(西式厨艺), 本课程为有志投身厨艺及餐饮业的学员提供专业厨艺及餐饮款待服务之职业导向训练,为职业专才及全人发展打好基础。本课程属资历架构第四级别,此外,学员亦有机会获专业认可资格。
课程为学员提供专业厨艺及餐饮款待服务之职业导向训练,为职业专才及全人发展打好基础。
专业认可资格

本校旅游学部拥有以下认可资格:

  • 香港旅行社协会附属会员
  • 英国款待学院国际教育机构会员
  • 亚太旅游教育及培训院校网络会员
课程介绍及特色

课程介绍

本课程为有志投身厨艺及餐饮业的学员提供专业厨艺及餐饮款待服务之职业导向训练,为职业专才及全人发展打好基础。本课程属资历架构第四级别,此外,学员亦有机会获专业认可资格。

本课程(非实验室为本)已获纳入教育局的‘指定专业/界别课程资助计划’。2021/22年度入学,合资格本地学生每年可获最高$22,050资助。

 

课程特色

  • 学生有机会被提名参与厨艺比赛和交流机会,发挥创意及扩阔视野
  • 餐饮训练中心提供专业餐饮款待训练,加强实务运作体验
  • “精品咖啡协会”(SCA)认可训练中心提供专业咖啡师训练
  • 可安排修读“食品卫生经理课程”,考取专业认可资格
  • 不少于600小时的实习,让学生从实际工作环境中学习,增加毕业后的竞争力及受聘认可性
  • 强大业界及雇主网络,联系及建立平台,提升学员职涯规划机遇
  • 课程让学生打好基础以便衔接相关大学课程

 

特色科目

  • 西式厨艺培训
  • 西式甜品及糕饼制作
  • 美食学及食品营养
  • 食品理论
  • 餐饮管理
  • 餐饮服务及制作
  • 实习(不少于600小时)

升学阶梯

  • 可申请升读伯明翰大学学院 (University College Birmingham) 相关学士学位课程;
  • 可衔接到本地或海外大学修读相关学士学位课程。

 

就业出路

毕业生可投身于各旅游业及酒店款待相关的机构工作,包括各星级酒店、私人会所、餐饮集团、会议及展览公司、主题公园或相关机构。

学生有机会被安排到星级酒店、大型餐饮集团、会议及展览公司、私人会所、主题公园或相关机构实习。表现良好之学生,有机会获实习机构直接聘用。

课程模式

全日制

授课形式

面授 (课堂有机会需要因应疫情而改为网上授课)

开课日期

2021年9月

修业期

2年

上课地点
入学资格
  • 中六毕业(香港中学文凭考试五科二级*#);或
  • 旧制中七毕业(高级程度会考一科高级程度科目或两科高级补充程度科目及格;及香港中学会考五科及格*);或
  • 专科文凭毕业;或
  • 毅进文凭毕业;或
  • 副学士学位先修 / 文凭毕业;或
  • 年满21岁或以上,及具有最少一年工作经验;或
  • 具同等学历;及
  • 通过入学面试。

* 包括中文、英文

# 接受最多两科达标或以上等级的应用学习科目

Mr. Lewis Walker
伯明翰学院大学学科首席讲师

Mr. Lewis Walker持有厨艺管理学士、硕士学位及学位教师教育深造文凭,现为英国伯明翰学院大学厨艺学部首席讲师。其厨艺制作生涯遍布英国不同餐饮公司、餐厅、酒店、酒吧及私人宴会,具丰富厨艺制作及餐饮业界经验。于累积相关的经验后,Mr. Lewis Walker再修毕硕士学位,以提升其厨艺知识、餐饮企业管理技能、食品科学及相关设计知识,以应付业界各种不同的环境和挑战。

一年级: $54,707 二年级: $60,145

本课程(非实验室为本)已获纳入教育局的“指定专业/界别课程资助计划”。在2021/2022学年,合资格本地学生修读本课程可每年获最高$22,050的资助金额,扣除最高资助金额后的学费为$32,657。比较其他院校同类的高级文凭,港专的第一年学费最低。

資歷架構級別
本课程资历已获香港资历架构认可
资历级别:4
资历名册登记号码:17/000624/L4
登记有效期:1/9/2017 至 31/8/2023
邓钰婷
“在两年的课程当中,除了课堂上所教授的厨艺知识及技巧之外,港专亦为我提供了不同的途径及学习机会,让我发挥创意及扩阔视野。例如透过业界及海外专业厨师的分享及厨艺工作坊,让我深入了解不同国家菜色的特别之处及传统的烹调技巧。此外,亦透过香港会议展览中心和香港旅游发展局主办的‘美酒佳肴巡礼’的体验活动, 让我见识香港餐饮业界的发展,也让我清楚了解自己日后在餐饮业界的发展方向。

透过与同学们一起策划给老人院舍的厨艺活动(We cook, We cater, We care ),不仅为我提供了餐饮项目管理相关的实战经验,同时也了解院舍的服务对象,如需要特别饮食的人士,日后若制作同类型餐单上会多加留意烹饪细节。
课程最后一个学期,会为学生按排酒店实习,为提升学生的竞争力和行业经验。在不少于600小时的实习中,我有机会在国际连锁酒店集团‘香港君悦酒店’工作,不只提升了我的烹饪技能,而且在实习过程中有机会应用到在港专学到的专业知识,学而致用。
透过广泛的体验学习活动,旅游业管理高级文凭(西式厨艺)为我提供了职业指导,并让我决心报读衔接相关的学士学位课程,使我更进一步发展及提升在餐饮领域的专业水平。”

专业进修学校将保留取消课程及最终取录权,恕不另行通知。
学费会因应各种因素而按年作出适当调整。
本课程(非实验室为本)已获纳入教育局的「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」。在2021/2022学年,合资格本地学生修读本课程可每年获最高$22,050的资助金额,扣除最高资助金额后的学费为$32,657。 只有本地学生才合资格获得「指定专业/界别课程资助计划」资助。