Lion Rock Labs of Cyberspace Security

In recent years, HKCT Institute of Higher Education (HKCT) has integrated the five strategic positions of the Greater Bay Area as defined by the central government and the functional positions of Hong Kong and Macau. It actively participates in the teaching and research system construction of cyberspace technology in the Hong Kong and Macau regions. HKCT has successively established the "Institute of Cyberspace Technology" and the "Lion Rock Labs of Cyberspace Security" (The lab) to promote the integration of industry, discipline and research. The development of disciplines such as Cyberspace Security, Industrial Internet of Things, and Artificial Intelligence Engineering is emphasised in the college.

The "Lion Rock Labs of Cyberspace Security" mainly focuses on the difficult issues of discovering, warning, handling, and collecting evidence related to digital and cyber-based illegal activities. It revolves around the urgent need for accurate perception, in-depth tracing, and rapid managed to prevent and combat cybercrime. The lab aims to build a research platform for monitoring, warning, and prevention of cyber incidents, supporting the transformation and engineering of technologies and equipment in online activity tracking and tracing, and digital forensics inspection technologies.

The lab's main research areas are information and communication cybersecurity technology, including four research areas: digital forensics, cyberspace crime investigation, information system security management, and cybersecurity talent evaluation systems and certification standardization. It features the transformation of research results into service-oriented platform.

To Develop the Integrated Exchange Platform for "Industry, Discipline, Research, Application, Funding and Venture Capital"

Transformation of Research Results into Service-oriented Platform

Project 1: Cybersecurity Risks in the Digital Era in the Hong Kong Region and Legislative Responses

Project 2: Cross-border Data Security

Project 3: Cybersecurity Talent Evaluation System in the Hong Kong and Macau Regions

Project 4: Research on Cyberspace Security Control Technologies in the Hong Kong and Macau Regions

Project 5: Development of Cyber Range Offensive and Defensive Capabilities

Lion Rock Labs of Cyberspace Security Open Topics for 2024 (First Batch) - Guidelines for Proposal Submission
  1. Overall Objective:

In order to fully leverage the laboratory's role in "being based in Hong Kong, relying on the Mainland, and facing the world," and following the overall approach of "limited goals, stable support, integrated enhancement, and assisting Hong Kong," the laboratory plans to establish open topics focusing on research directions such as cybersecurity regulations and management, cryptography theory and technology, network and system security, cross-border data security theory and technology, blockchain and Web3, digital forensics and data governance, etc. The aim is to achieve significant research outcomes in these areas, addressing important scientific and technological issues faced by cybersecurity in Hong Kong. The goal is to rapidly elevate the research level of the laboratory and establish a certain level of influence in Hong Kong and across the country. Interested applicants are requested to submit the completed electronic version of the project proposal (signed by the project applicant and stamped with the official seal of the affiliated institution) to carol@hkct.edu.hk before April 20, 2024. Please indicate "Proposal for Lion Rock Labs Open Topics" in the subject line. (Application Form Template Download)

  1. Types of Topics:

Open topics mainly support research-oriented projects undertaken jointly by external high-level researchers and laboratory staff. The topics are divided into key topics and general topics, with funding ranging from HK$50,000 to 100,000 for key topics and HK$20,000 to 40,000 for general topics. The laboratory may adjust the possibility of applying for key projects to general projects of the same category based on the actual application situation and evaluation results.

  1. Key Supported Directions for this Year (First Batch):

    a. Cyberspace security regulations and management
    (1) Cross-border data security legal norms
    (2) Blockchain and Web3 legal norms
    (3) Personal information protection legal norms
    (4) Other cyberspace security regulations and management

    b. Design of teaching systems
    (1) Design of theoretical and practical teaching systems for artificial intelligence applications
    (2) Design of theoretical and practical teaching systems for blockchain and related technologies
    (3) Design of talent cultivation system and simulation SOC platform for security operation based on cyber range
    (4) Design of theoretical and practical teaching systems for master's courses in computer science (focus on cybersecurity higher education)
    (5) Other emerging technologies

    c. Cross-border data security theory and technology
    (1) Cloud computing and cloud service security
    (2) Big data security and privacy protection
    (3) Internet of Things security and reliability
    (4) Blockchain technology and its applications
    (5) Other application security theories and technologies

    d. Blockchain and Web3
    (1) Consensus mechanisms
    (2) Smart contracts and their security
    (3) Blockchain performance optimization
    (4) Cryptocurrencies and their security
    (5) Other theories and technologies related to blockchain and Web3
  1. Requirements for Topic Application:

    (1) Clearly defined research objectives, research content, and innovative points;
    (2) The execution period for both key-funded and general-funded topics is 2 years;
    (3) Completion indicators should be quantified according to the acceptance requirements of various types of topics, such as invention patents, academic monographs, top-tier journal papers, SCI or EI indexed papers, other core journal papers, awards, etc., including the expected quantity of achievements.
  1. Enquiry:

Please contact Carol at carol@hkct.edu.hk for any further enquiries.

Academic Symposium and Event

HKCT Institute of Higher Education (HKCT) and Suzhou Automotive Research Institute, Tsinghua University held the academic seminar "Exploration of Human Factors Engineering in the Field of Sports and Health - Perspective from the Application of Traditional Chinese Medicine" on 11th January, 2024. The seminar brought together medical professors, scientists, scientific research team members, sports professionals, and others to integrate knowledge from different fields and discuss human factors engineering.

This is the first academic conference held after the establishment of the "Joint Laboratory for Aerospace Safety and Human Factors Engineering" by HKCT and Suzhou Automotive Research Institute, Tsinghua University last year. The seminar invited Nanjing University of Chinese Medicine, representative inheritor of Nanjing Intangible Cultural Heritage, Professor Zhang Gongyu, Deputy Director of the Aerospace Vehicle R&D Centre, pre-selected members of the 39th team and backup members of the 40th team of the Chinese Antarctic Research Expedition, Mr Sun Lu, as well as the Honorary Deputy Secretary General of the Sports Federation & Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China and the Olympic Committee, and the Chairman of The Judo Association of Hong Kong, China, Mr WONG Po Kee, as speakers. The seminar was moderated by Mr KWOK Lam For, Head of the HKCT "Lion Rock Labs of Cyberspace Security". It was attended by guests and professional athletes from various fields such as technology, sports, and medicine.

During the seminar, Mr KWOK Lam For, Head of the HKCT "Lion Rock Labs of Cyberspace Security", pointed out that in 2023, the State Council issued the "Major Project Implementation Plan for the Revitalization and Development of Traditional Chinese Medicine," accelerating the construction of the innovation and modernization project for the inheritance of traditional Chinese medicine. The development of traditional Chinese medicine technology is closely related to the research of human factors engineering. "Through the establishment of the 'Joint Laboratory for Aerospace Safety and Human Factors Engineering,' we hope to leverage the advantages of the Hong Kong region, gather high-quality resources from home and abroad, strengthen the integration and development of human factors engineering with different industries and disciplines, promote research and innovation in human factors engineering in mainland China and Hong Kong, and build a highland for research and innovation in human factors engineering."

 
 

In response to the high attention to cybersecurity in the "Policy Address" released on October 25, HKCT Institute of Higher Education held the "Lion Rock" Symposium of Cyberspace on October 27, 2023. Professor LEI Zhibin, Secretary-General of the Institute of Web 3.0 Hong Kong, was invited as the officiating guest, along with Mr WANG Zhongru, Director of the Information Centre of the Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in HKSAR, and several guests from the information technology and academic fields attended the event.

The Symposium themed "Digital Security and Privacy - Mainland Experience Sharing," invited 4 heavyweight experts in the field of cyberspace, including Dr. Huang Jiwu, a distinguished professor at Shenzhen University and winner of the National Distinguished Young Fund , Researcher Li Fenghua, Deputy Chief Engineer of the Institute of Information Engineering of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and expert of the State Council's Cyberspace Security Discipline Review Group, Professor Yang Tingting, a researcher at the Pengcheng Laboratory and Minister of the Ministry of Education, and Professor Sun Guozi, Director of the Institute of Data Security Compliance Application Technology at Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications. They respectively gave presentations on 4 topics: "Forgery of Image Evidence," "Development Trends and Applications of Data Security and Privacy Computing in the Sharing Environment," "Ten Fundamental Issues of Computing Power and Security Networks," and "Electronic Data Forensic Technology: Opportunities and Challenges."

 

On the day the ICT founding ceremony was held, HKCT also hosted the Symposium of Cyberspace. Numerous cyberspace specialists and scholars supported the event. Dr WEN Sheng from Swinburne University of Technology, Professor ZHANG Weizhe, Deputy Director of the New Network Department of Peng Cheng Laboratory, and Professor MA Zhuo, Deputy Director of the Scientific Research Institute of Xi’an University of Electronic Science and Technology, respectively delivered a keynote speech entitled “How can we guarantee Web 3’s future success?”, “Security risks and strategy related to internet domain names”, and “Machine unlearning mechanism and its security application”.

In addition, Professor MA Jianfeng, Director of the Department of Cyberspace Security of Xi’an University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Professor ZHANG Xiaosong, Director of the Institute of Cyberspace Security of the University of Electronic Science and Technology, Professor LI Xiaoyong, Executive Dean of the School of Cyberspace Security of Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, and Professor CAI Jingjing, Chairperson of Yongxin Zhicheng Technology Co., Ltd., took part in a roundtable forum on the development of the cyberspace security discipline and talent grooming. Professor DING Yong, Dean of ICT, was the moderator. All the guests in attendance praised the specialists and scholars for their professional insight that helped enhance their understanding of cybersecurity.

狮子山网络空间安全实验室

港专学院(港专)近年结合中央对大湾区的五大战略定位及香港澳门地区的功能定位,积极参与港澳地区的网络空间科技教学和科研体系建设,先后成立了港专「网络空间科技学院」(Institute of Cyberspace Technology)及「狮子山网络空间安全实验室」,致力结合产、学、研,将网络空间安全、物联网工程、人工智能工程等新工科类学科作为学院学科发展的重点项目推动。

「狮子山网络空间安全实验室」主要针对数字化、网络化违法犯罪活动发现、预警、处置、取证较难等问题,围绕防范打击涉网犯罪信息精确感知、深度溯源和快速处置的迫切需求,建设网络事件监测预警与防控应用研究平台,支撑开展网络事件监测预警、在线活动追踪溯源、电子数据取证勘验等技术、装备的成果转化和工程化。

实验室是以信息通信网络安全技术为主要研究领域,以电子数据取证、网络犯罪侦查、信息系统安全管理、网络安全人才评价体系与认证标准化为四个主要研究方向,以科研成果转化平台服务为特色。

打造为「产、学、研、用、金」综合性交流平台

以科研成果转化平台服务

专题一:数字时代香港地区网络安全风险及立法应对

专题二:跨境数据安全自评估体系

专题三:港澳地区网络安全人才评价体系

专题四:港澳地区网络空间安全管控技术研究

专题五:基于网络靶场的攻防实战能力发展

香港狮子山网络空间安全实验室 2024 年开放课题(第一批)- 指南

一、总体目标

为充分发挥实验室“立足香港、依托内地、面向世界”的连接作用,遵循“有限目标、稳定支持、集成升华、助力香港”的总体思路,实验室拟围绕网络空间安全法规与管理、密码理论与技术、网络与系统安全、跨境数据安全理论与技术、区块链与 Web3、数字取证与数据治理等研究方向而设立开放课题,争取在这些领域内取得应用开发研究重要成果,解决香港网络空间安全面临的重要科学和技术问题。使实验室在领域内的研究水平迅速提升,并在香港和全国形成一定的影响力。请有意申报者将撰写完成的项目申报书电子版( 项目申请人签字并加盖所在单位公章后扫描)于 2024 4 20 之前将申报书电子版发送到 carol@hkct.edu.hk。标题請註明 “ 申报狮子山实验室开放课题”。(申请书模板下载

二、课题类型设置

开放课题主要支持实验室外部高水平研究人员与实验室人员共同承担的研究型开放课题,课题分为重点课题和一般课题,其中重点课题经费 5-10 万,一般课题 2-4 万。实验室根据实际申报情况与评审结果,申报的重点项目可能会调整至同类项目的一般项目。

三、本年度重点支持方向(第一批)

(一)网络空间安全法规与管理

(1)跨境数据安全法律规范
(2)区块链与Web3 法律规范
(3)个人信息保护法律规范
(4)其他网络空间安全法规与管理

(二)教学体系设计

(1)人工智能应用理论与实训教学体系设计
(2)区块链及相关技术的理论与实训教学体系设计
(3)基于靶场安全运营人才培养体系及仿真SOC 平台设计
(4)计算科学(网络安全高等教育方向)硕士课程理论与实训教学体系设计
(5)其他新兴技术

(三)跨境数据安全理论与技术

(1)云计算与云服务安全
(2)大数据安全与隐私保护
(3)物联网安全与可靠性
(4)区块链技术及其应用
(5)其他应用安全理论和技术

(四)区块链与 WEB3

(1)共识机制
(2)智能合约及其安全
(3)区块链性能优化
(4)加密货币及其安全
(5)其他区块链与WEB3 理论与技术

四、课题申报要求

(1)有明确的研究目标、研究内容和创新点;
(2)重点资助课题和一般资助课题的执行时间均为 2 年
(3)完成指标应参照各类课题的验收要求分类量化,如:发明专利、学术专著、一级学术期刊论文、SCI 或 EI 收录论文、其它核心期刊论文、获奖成果等类别及预期完成的数量。

五、其它

未尽事宜,请电邮至 carol@hkct.edu.hk 与Carol联系。

学术论坛及活动

港专学院(港专)与清华大学苏州汽车研究院于2024年1月11日,假港专赛马会本科校园举办「人因工程在运动健康领域的探索–以传统中医药学应用为视角」学术研讨会,汇聚医学教授、科学家、科学考察队员、体育运动专业人士等,融合不同领域知识研讨人因工程。

这是去年港专与清华大学苏州汽车研究院成立「航天安全及人因工程联合实验室」后的首个学术研讨会,邀请了南京中医药大学教授、南京市非物质文化遗产代表性传承人张工彧、航天载具研发中心副主任、中国南极考察39队预选队员、40队备选队员孙鹭及中国香港体育协会暨奥林匹克委员会义务副秘书长、中国香港柔道总会主席黄宝基担任讲者,并由港专「狮子山网络空间安全实验室」首席总监郭琳科担任主持人。现场更有多位科技、运动和医药等界别的嘉宾和专业运动员出席。

研讨会上,港专「狮子山网络空间安全实验室」首席总监郭琳科指出,2023年国务院发表《中医药振兴发展重大工程实施方案》,加快建设中医药传承创新和现代化工程,中医药科技的发展与人因工程专业的研究也变得息息相关。「希望能透过『航天安全及人因工程联合实验室』的成立,发挥香港地区优势,聚集海内外优质资源,加强人因工程专业与不同行业领域、学科专业的融合发展,推动中国内地与香港人因工程科研创新,建设人因工程专业研究创新高地。」

 
 

港专学院于2023年10月27日举办香港网络空间技术「狮子山」论坛,邀请了香港Web3.0协会秘书长雷志斌教授担任主礼嘉宾,以及中联办信息中心王忠儒处长和多位信息科技界及学界的嘉宾亲临现场参与活动,以响应特首于10月25日发布的《施政报告》对网络安全的高度关注。

论坛以「数字安全及隐私 ─ 内地经验分享」为主题,邀请4位在网络空间领域的重量级专家,包括深圳大学特聘教授、国家杰出青年基金获得者黄继武教授、中科院信息工程研究所副总工程师、国务院网络空间安全学科评议组专家李凤华研究员、鹏城实验室研究员及人教部部长杨婷婷教授及南京邮电大学数据安全合规应用技术研究所所长孙国梓教授,分别以「伪造图像取证」、「泛在共享环境下数据安全与隐私计算的发展趋势及应用」、「算力与安全内生网络十大基础问题」及「电子数据取证技术:机遇与挑战」4个主题演讲。

 

港专学院于「网络空间科技学院」(Institute of Cyberspace Technology)成立当天(2023年5月18日)举办「网络空间专题论坛」,获多位网络安全专家及学者,包括 Swinburne University of Technology 的文晟博士、鹏城实验室新型网络部副主任张伟哲教授及西安电子科技大学科研院副院长马卓教授支持,分别就「How can we guarantee Web 3's future success?」、「互联网域名系统的安全风险及对策探讨」及「机器学习遗忘机制探索及其安全应用」三个主题主持演讲。

另外,西安电子科技大学网络空间安全学部主任马建峰教授、电子科技大学网络空间安全学院院长张小松教授、北京邮电大学网络空间安全学院执行院长李小勇教授及永信至诚科技股份有限公司董事长蔡晶晶教授亦就着「网络空间安全学科建设与人才培养」进行圆桌论坛环节,并由港专学院网络空间科技学院院长丁勇教授担任主持人。出席的嘉宾都表示各位专家及学者的分享十分专业独到,令他们对网络安全有了新一层次的认识。