Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) in Social Work

Introduction
Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) in Social Work (Year 1) - This programme aims to educate students to be an all-round social worker. They are provided with 800 hours placement, and able to be registered as registered social workers with the Hong Kong Social Workers Registration Board.
The aim of this programme (Year 1 entry) is to educate degree students to qualify for registered social workers with attributes of being practical and open-minded. This degree also cultivates generalist practicioner in the field of social work providing services to people with different needs, and promoting social development. Apart from Year 1 entry, this programme also provides Senior Year entry. Please click here for more details.
Professional Qualification

The course has been approved by the Social Workers Registration Board and graduates can apply to become registered social workers.

Contents

Programme Contents

This course facilitates students to master the knowledge base of social work and incorporate relevant social science knowledge for developing a critical understanding of social phenomena and social work intervention; equip students with the ability to analyze and practice social work, apply social development concepts and have a good judgment when serving in different organizational and service contexts. The course gives special emphasis on enhancing the personal and professional growth of students in becoming a competent and reflective professional social worker and in possessing the professional values ​​and qualities that a social worker should have.

Please click here for Featured Subjects.

 

Programme Features

Senior teaching team and rich social worker training experience

  • The programme is designed and taught by a number of senior professors in the social sciences and service fields, including Honorary Professor Chan Wing Tai, JP, the Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences Professor Chan Yuk Chung, and the Head of the Department of Applied Social Sciences Professor Chui Yat Hung. With the rich experience in training up thousands of social workers for over 18 years, the teaching, learning and quality of the programme are guaranteed.

Courses and graduates with professional recognition

  • The course has been approved by the Social Workers Registration Board and graduates can apply to become registered social workers.

Employment advantages and decent income

  • Graduates can serve as Assistant Social Work Officer (ASWO) or equivalent. The starting salary for the government is at point 16 on the MPS (the starting salary is $33,350 under the approval of the Civil Service Pay Adjustment Mechanism in Feb 2020).

Bilingual teaching is conducive to learning

  • The course is taught in either Chinese or English as specified with reference books and materials written in Chinese and English. Lecturers will teach in the language most conducive to students’ learning while giving chances to further develop their competence in both languages.

Generalist social work training that values ​​down-to-earth practice and values

  • The course aims to train students to become a practical and open-minded generalist social worker, who can continue to grow at the individual and professional level, while embracing the ideal of social work, affirming the value of people, tolerating differences, and exercising independent judgment with self-reflection ability and sense of responsibility when providing services for people with different needs and promoting social development.

Fieldwork placement opportunities to enhance theoretical and practical integration

  • The 900-hour* internship allows each student to experience the integration of theory and practice in different fields such as services for young people, people with disabilities, the elderly and families. This will help students to gain experience and deepen their learning experience.

2+2 Articulation Scheme

  • Students who have completed the 2-year HKCT Higher Diploma in Social Work (graduated in 2021) and fulfilled designated requirements will be eligible to receive admission offer of this 2-year bachelor programme of senior-year entry (i.e. direct entry to the third year of this Programme).

 

* 100 hours of preparation study before placement and 800 hours of placement in different organizations

 

Key Training Features

It aims to cultivate students holistically with the following emphases:

Personal and professional growth

  • Personal and professional growth are our pivotal concerns. To enhance students’ personal and professional growth, four subjects with a total of 8 credits are devoted. Students will also strengthen their personal growth during co-curricular activities, such as reading the book, Choosing Civility: The Twenty Rules of Considerate Conduct by P.M. Forni, and watching the movie, Scant of Women.

Passion and compassion

  • Passion is the basic condition for achieving success but social workers need to have compassion at the same time, coupled with compassionate actions which help reduce or eliminate the suffering of the client, and prevent professional workers from the pitfalls of becoming aloft and arrogant. The programme will provide chances for students to encounter and communicate with the vulnerable groups in society like the low-income family, dwellers of partitioned flats, blinded persons, rehabilitated mental health patients, marginal youth, so that students can understand and empathize with their situation, and be compassionate when walking with them.

Innovation and creativity

  • Social workers must also think outside the box and practice their profession creatively. With the strength of the college in social innovation education, this course also trains students to be open-minded and accept changes so that they can solve social problems with innovative ideas. An assignment of the subject on personal growth is designed for students to move out of their comfort zone. Subjects like approaches in Globalisation and Social Development, Social Innovation and Environmental Design, Science, Technology and Society will open up students to examples of innovative solutions against the problems in the world and the state of art under the development of sciences and technology. These help students develop the innovative ideas and creativity.

Social development perspective

  • The focus of social development is to accumulate social capital on social networks and relationships through the collaboration of different stakeholders, and to respond more effectively to social needs and complex social issues. Through multi-party cooperation, sustainable social development can be achieved. Two elective subjects of the programme are under social development perspectives. To promote social justice, social development is an additional option besides social action.

Graduation Path

The Bachelor of Social Sciences (Hons) in Social Work is accredited by the Social Workers Registration Board. Graduates can work as assistant social work officers in the Social Welfare Department or at the same level in non-governmental organizations, serving as school social workers, outreach social workers or medical social workers.

After completing the course, students will have the analytical skills, problem-solving skills, and the ability to collaborate or cooperate with others as expected of a university graduate. Thus, they are also capable of taking up other jobs which only require a general degree qualification. Such jobs include government posts such as disciplinary services (especially the Assistant officer II / officer of the Correctional Services Department), the Administrative Officer / Executive Officer II. For non-civil servant posts, our graduates are also qualified for jobs such as program officer, project manager and assistant to LegCo and District Council members.

According to the approval of the Civil Service Pay Adjustment Mechanism in Feb 2020, the entry salary for Assistant Social Work Officers is $33,350. NGOs have their own staff establishment.

 

Student Words

LI Hang Ying, Jenny
A student who expects to obtain a professional qualification to assist her clients to develop their capability

 

Cheung Ying
"The Bachelor of Social Science (Hons) in Social Work programme I studied in the HKCT Institute of Higher Education has been accredited by the Social Workers Registration Board. We can register as a registered social worker. The teachers are passionate about their teaching and social work practice. Besides formal curriculum, they have organized different co-curricular activities for us (like reading a book and watching a film together and conducting seminars on special topics in social work). These activities strengthen our knowledge of humanistic beliefs and a more comprehensive understanding of the nature of social work, so as to prepare us to become a competent social worker in the future. The teaching quality is guaranteed because most of the teachers have had rich teaching experience in universities. They also possess years of frontline working experience before teaching."

 

The course focuses on the integration of classroom learning and social work practices. Students will experience social work practice in a real social work environment through 900 hours of fieldwork practice (400 hours for each placement and 100 hours of preparation study before placement) under the guidance and supervision of an experienced fieldwork supervisor. The placement also provides an opportunity for students to develop their abilities, practice what they have learned and improve their abilities at the practice level in different social service contexts. Graduates will have sufficient professional preparation for future employment in social work or related positions.

Mode of Study

Full Time

Teaching Mode

Face to face (Classes may need to be conducted via online platform depending on epidemic for the sake of students’ safety)

Commencement of Study

September 2021

Entry Year

Year 1

Duration

4 Years

Location
Entry Requirements
  • Level 3 or above in Chinese Language and English Language, and Level 2 or above in 3 subjects (including Mathematics and Liberal Studies) in HKDSE [performance in Applied Learning subjects would be considered]; or
  • Pass in Chinese Language and Culture, Use of English, and 1 AL or 2 AS Level subjects in HKALE; plus 5 passes in HKCEE (including Chinese Language and English Language); or
  • 28 or above out of 42 points in International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Programme; and
    • Grade 5 or above in Standard-Level English Language Syllabus B; or
    • Grade 4 or above in Higher-Level English Language Syllabus B; or
    • Grade 4 or above in Standard-Level / Higher-Level English Language Syllabus A; or
  • Aged 21 or above with relevant working experience and qualifications in the field of social services; or
  • Equivalent qualifications; and
  • Pass in admission interview.

Non-local Entry
Please contact us at (852) 2265 6993 or email to dss@ctihe.edu.hk for more information.
If there is any inconsistency between the English and Chinese versions, the English version shall prevail.

Prof. Chan Yuk Chung
Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Nottingham University)
  • Registered Social Worker, Social Worker Registration Board, H.K.
  • Supervisor of Doctoral students, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Visiting Professor, School of Social Development and Public Policy, Beijing Normal University
  • Instructor, PKU-HK PolyU China Social Work Research Centre
  • Assessment Panel Member, Social Worker Registration Board
  • Programme Accreditation Member, Hong Kong Professional Counselling Association
  • Consultant, various NGO social services agencies in Hong Kong

Prof. CHUI Yat Hung
Head, Department of Applied Social Sciences

  • Doctor of Education (Counselling Psychology) (CUHK)
  • Master of Social Sciences (HKU)
  • Chartered Psychologist, Associate Fellow, British Psychological Society, U.K.
  • Approved Counselling Supervisor, Fellow, Hong Kong Professional Counselling   Association
  • Global Career Development Facilitator Accredited Trainer, National Board for   Certified Counselors, U.S.
  • Registered Social Worker, Social Worker Registration Board, H.K.
  • Past President of the Hong Kong Professional Counselling Association

Dr. CHUN Ping Kit, Roxco
Program Leader, Department of Applied Social Sciences

  • Doctor of Philosophy (HKU)
  • Master of Social Sciences (HKU)
  • Bachelor in Social Sciences in Social Work (HKU)
  • Registered Social Worker, Social Worker Registration Board, H.K.
  • Chairperson, the Marriage Enrichment Network
  • Chairperson, the Kornhill Alliance Church Family Service Centre Committee
  • Committee Member, Christian Fellowship of Pastoral Care for Youth
  • Member, Fullness Christian Vocational Training Centre

Dr. LAW Yee-man, Moon
Assistant Professor

  • Hong Kong Polytechnic University Doctor of Social Work
  • Hong Kong Register Social Worker (RSW)
  • Co-Investigator and Chief Trainer of a Positive Youth Development Project
  • Co-Principal Investigator of a Family and Parenting Project
  • Provide training for students and frontline workers in the fields of social work and education both in HK and Mainland China

Year 1: $84,635 Year 2: $84,635 Year 3: $88,510 Year 4: $91,000

This programme is subsidised under Non-means-tested Subsidy Scheme (NMTSS). In the 2021/2022 academic year, a subsidy of up to $33,100 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this programme. The first-year tuition fee after subsidy is $51,535.

資歷架構級別
The qualification of this programme is recognised under the Qualifications Framework in Hong Kong.
QF level:5
QR Registration No.:19/000651/L5
Registration Validity Period:1/9/2019 to 31/8/2024
HKCT Institute of Higher Education reserves the right of cancellation of programme and granting offer without prior notice.
All tuition fees are to be reviewed and adjusted every year.
Non-means-tested Subsidy Scheme for Full-time Self-financing Undergraduate Studies in Hong Kong ($33,100 subsidy annually)

社會工作(榮譽)社會科學學士

簡單課程介紹
社會工作(榮譽)社會科學學士(第一年) - 課程旨在培育學生成為一位貼地實幹又能開放自己的通才社會工作者,另有800小時的實習機會,並已獲社會工作者註冊局認可,畢業生可申請成為註冊社會工作者。
本學位課程(一年級入學)旨在培育本科生成為註冊社工,具備兼容思維又貼地實幹的通才社會工作者,為有需要的人士提供服務,促進社會發展。除一年級入學外,課程提供三年級入學途徑,如欲了解有關資訊,請按此
專業認可資格

課程已獲社會工作者註冊局認可,畢業生可申請成為註冊社會工作者。

課程介紹及特色

課程介紹

本課程促進學生掌握社會工作的知識基礎,配合相關社會科學知識,建立對社會現象和社會工作介入的批判性理解;裝備學生對社會工作的分析和實踐能力,應用社會發展概念,在社會服務和非政府組織的不同工作環境中作出適當判斷。課程著重提升學生的個人和專業成長,以建立學生作為一位既能幹又有反思能力的專業社工,並具備一位社工應有的專業價值觀和素質。

按此查看特色科目。

 

課程特色

資深教學團隊及社工培育經驗

  • 課程由多位資深社會科學及服務界別的教授設計及執教,包括榮譽教授陳永泰教授JP、社會科學院院長陳沃聰敎授,及應用社會科學系系主任崔日雄教授等。加上港專逾17年來,培訓過千名社工的豐富經驗,課程教與學及質素有保證。

課程及畢業生獲專業認可

  • 課程已獲社會工作者註冊局認可,畢業生可申請成為註冊社會工作者。

就業優勢及可觀收入

  • 畢業生可擔任助理社會工作主任 (ASWO) 或同等職位,政府起薪點是總薪級表的16點(按2020年2月通過之公務員薪酬調整方案,起薪點是$33,350)。

雙語教學,有利學習

  • 課程以中文或英文指定的語言授課,同時採用由中文或英文所撰寫的參考書籍和資料,講師會用最有利學生學習的語言來授課,同時加強學生雙語的運用。

重視實幹及價值觀的通才社會工作訓練

  • 課程旨在培育學生成為一位貼地實幹又能開放自己的通才社會工作者,既能在個人和專業層面得以持續成長,同時需擁抱社會工作理想,肯定人的價值,能容納差異,有獨立判斷力、自省能力和重視責任感,為有不同需要的人士提供服務,促進社會的發展。

實習機會,增強理論和實踐整合

  • 900小時*的實習將安排同學到最少兩個不同領域或對象的單位內服務,在老師的指導下實踐所學理論及技巧,對象包括青少年、傷殘人士、長者和家庭服務等,汲取真實的工作經驗,加深學習成果。

2+2升學銜接計劃

  • 修畢港專社會工作高級文憑課程後並符合指定要求,可直接獲本課程的取錄資格,並以高年級入學(即直接入讀課程的第三年)

 

* 實習前的100小時準備學習時數加800小時機構實習

 

培訓重點特色

個人和專業成長

  • 個人和專業成長至為重要。除了課程中的四科、共八學分外,學生同時會透過課外學習活動,包括閱讀Choosing Civility: The Twenty-Five Rules of Considerate Conduct by P.M Forni和欣賞電影 《女人香》,以提升個人和專業成長。

熱誠和憐憫同行的心

  • 熱誠是取得成就的基本條件,但社會工作者更需同時擁有憐憫同行的心,以體恤的心配合行動,減輕或消除服務對象的困苦,防止專業工作者表現得疏離及高高在上的弊病。課程會安排同學與不同的弱勢社群對話接觸,其中包括低收入家庭、劏房住戶、失明人士、精神康復者、邊緣青少年等,使學生能體恤和代入他們的處境和遭遇,衍生與他們同行的心。

創新和創意

  • 專業社工需懂得以創新的思維及方法幫助服務對象,以創意實踐專業工作。借助學院對社會創新教育的方向,本課程同時培養學生願意開放思維、接受改變,使他們能以創新意念解決社會問題。個人成長學科會透過功課鼓勵同學走出自己的「舒適區」。而「全球化與社會發展研究視角」、「社會創新與環境設計」等科目,更讓同學了解科技之最新發展,及解決社會不同問題的創新方案,啟發同學的創新和創意。

社會發展視野

  • 社會發展的重點是透過不同持分者的協作,累積社會網絡和關係的社會資本,更有效地回應社會需要和複雜的社會問題。透過多方合作,達至社會持續發展。課程中有兩個選修科皆屬於社會發展視角範疇。除了透過社會行動,要推展社會公義,社會發展將會是另一出路。

畢業生出路

社會工作(榮譽)社會科學學士課程獲得社會工作者註冊局的認可,畢業生可於社會福利署任職助理社會工作主任或在非政府機構任職類同職級,例如擔任學校社工、外展社工或醫務社工等。

完成課程後,學生都具備了大學畢業生所需的分析力、解難能力、和與人協作或合作的能力,能勝任其它只要求具備學位資歷的工作。除了社工外,這些職位還包括政府職位如紀律部隊(特別是懲教署的二級助理/主任) 、 政務主任/二級行政主任等職位。非政府職位方面,我們的畢業生也可以勝任程序幹事、項目經理和議員助理等工種。

按2020年2月通過之公務員薪酬調整方案,助理社會工作主任的入職薪酬是$33,350。非政府機構則有自己的薪酬編制。

 

學生分享

李幸嬰
一個期望取得專業資格,以幫助服務對象發揮他們潛能的學生

 

張凝
「我於港專就讀的社會工作(榮譽)社會科學學士課程獲社會工作者註冊局認可,我們畢業後可以申請成為註冊社會工作者,因此課程有認受性。學院的老師滿有教學及社會工作的熱誠,除了一般課堂外,亦精心安排課外學習(如一起閱讀書藉、觀賞影片、及參與和社工相關的講座等等),這些課外活動都能加強我們對人文信念的認識和對社會工作本質有更全面的理解,為我們日後成為一位能幹的社會工作者作好準備。此外,老師除了富有在大學教學的經驗,亦曾在社會工作的前線服務多年,因此教學質素亦非常有保證。」

 

課程著重課堂學習和真實社會工作實務的結合。學生將通過900小時的實習(每個實習是400小時,加上實習前的100小時準備學習時數),並在富有經驗的實習導師指導和督導之下,在真實的社會工作環境之中體會到具體的操作情況。實習亦提供機會讓同學發揮能力,在社會服務機構的操作層面實踐所學和提升能力。畢業生將擁有足夠的專業準備,以便將來任職社會工作或相關職位。

課程模式

全日制

授課形式

面授 (課堂有機會需要因應疫情而改為網上授課)

開課日期

2021年9月

入讀年級

一年級

修業期

4年

上課地點
入學資格
  • 香港中學文憑考試 – 中國語文科及英國語文科三級或以上;及另外三科(包括數學科和通識教育科)二級或以上(應用學習科目的成績會一併考慮);或
  • 香港高級程度會考 – 中國語文及文化科、英語運用科及一科高級程度科目(或兩科高級補充程度科目)及格;及香港中學會考五科(包括中國語文科和英國語文科)及格;或
  • 國際預科文憑試 – 42分之中取得28分或以上;及
    • 標準程度英國語文科課程乙五級或以上;或
    • 高級程度英國語文科課程乙四級或以上;或
    • 標準程度/高級程度英國語文科課程甲四級或以上;或
  • 年滿21歲或以上,及具有社會服務行業的工作經驗;或
  • 同等學歷;及
  • 通過入學面試。

非本地學生入學
詳情請致電 (852) 2265 6993 或電郵 dss@ctihe.edu.hk 與我們聯絡。
如中英文版本內容有差異,須以英文版本內容為準。

陳沃聰教授
社會科學院院長

  • 諾丁漢大學哲學博士
  • 香港註冊社工
  • 香港理工大學博士生導師
  • 北京師範大學社會發展與公共政策學院訪問教授
  • 北京大學-香港理工大學中國社會工作研究中心導師
  • 香港社會工作者註冊局學歷評審委員
  • 香港專業輔導協會學歷評審委員會會員
  • 香港多間非政府社會服務機構顧問

崔日雄教授
應用社會科學系系主任

  • 香港中文大學教育博士 (輔導心理學)
  • 香港大學社會科學碩士 (青年工作)
  • 英國心理學會註冊心理學家及副院士
  • 香港專業輔導協會認證輔導督導及院士
  • 美國NBCC認證全球職涯發展培訓師
  • 香港註冊社工
  • 前任香港專業輔導協會會長

秦炳傑博士
應用社會科學系課程主任

  • 香港大學哲學博士
  • 香港大學社會科學碩士
  • 香港大學社會科學學士 (社會工作)
  • 香港註冊社工
  • 婚姻成長網絡主席
  • 宣道會康怡堂家庭服務中心委員會主席
  • 青牧團契委員
  • 基督教豐盛職業訓練中心成員

羅綺雯博士
社會科學院助理教授

  • 香港理工大學 社會工作博士學位
  • 香港註冊社工
  • 正面青少年成長計劃     聯合研究者及首席訓練導師
  • 家庭及家長教育計劃     聯合首席研究者
  • 為本港及國內的社工及教育界的學生、前線工作者提供培訓

一年級: $84,635 二年級: $84,635 三年級: $88,510 四年級: $91,000

本課程已獲納入教育局的「免入息審查資助計劃」。在2021/2022學年,合資格本地學生修讀本課程可每年獲最高$33,100的資助金額,扣除最高資助金額後的學費為$51,535。

資歷架構級別
本課程資歷已獲香港資歷架構認可
資歷級別:5
資歷名冊登記號碼:19/000651/L5
登記有效期:1/9/2019 至 31/8/2024
港專學院將保留取消課程及最終取錄權,恕不另行通知。
學費會因應各種因素而按年作出適當調整。
為修讀香港全日制自資學士學位課程學生提供的免入息審查資助計劃(每年$33,100)