Higher Diploma in Tourism Management (Hospitality)

Introduction
Higher Diploma in Tourism Management (Hospitality), This programme is designed to provide vocational and professional training in hospitality and tourism. With the Qualifications Framework QF Level 4, graduates can pursue professional recognitions which help them up a step on the career ladder.
This programme aims at offering essential and extensive operational knowledge and training in tourism and event management, including event and facilities management, event operation, tourism  policy and business planning.
Professional Qualification

The Division of Tourism & Hospitality of Hong Kong College of Technology is recognised as:

  • Allied Member of Hong Kong Association of Travel Agents (HATA)
  • International Scheme Member of Institute of Hospitality Education Membership Scheme (IOH)
  • Regional Member of The Network of Asia-Pacific Education and Training Institutes in Tourism (APETIT)
Contents

Programme Contents

With the number of new hotels growing in recent years, demand for freshly-trained staff and professionals in the hospitality industry is on the rise. This programme is designed to meet industrial demand by providing vocational and professional training in hospitality and tourism. With the Qualifications Framework QF Level 4, graduates can pursue professional recognitions which help them up a step on the career ladder.

This programme (non-laboratory-based) is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2021/22 cohort, a subsidy of up to $22,050 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student.

 

Programme Features

  • The Mock-up Hotel Room and Hotel Software System "Opera" allows students to understand and practice operation process
  • Well-equipped Food and Beverage Training Centre (Inclusive of Integrated Training Restaurant, Production and Training Kitchen, Culinary Practice Lab) for professional training of catering and culinary skills
  • Students are eligible to apply for Specialized Coffee Association (SCA) course for professional qualifications
  • Not less than 600 hours of internship, allowing students to learn from the actual working environment, increasing competitiveness and acceptance after graduation
  • Strong industry and employer networks help connect and build platforms between students and the industry which enhance student employability
  • Graduates can pursue a bachelor's degree programme in related disciplines

 

Featured Modules

  • Front Office Operations
  • Management in Hospitality Industry
  • Housekeeping Operations
  • Rooms Division Management
  • Food Service and Production Operation
  • Food and Beverage Management
  • Food and Beverage Service
  • Internship (at least 600 hours)

Articulation Path

Graduates are eligible to apply for:

  • A related bachelor’s degree programme at Sheffield Hallam University or the University of Northampton or University College Birmingham in the UK;
  • Related bachelor’s degree programmes offered by local or overseas universities.

 

Career Prospects

Graduates may join the field of tourism and hospitality, which covers travel agencies, hotels, private clubs, restaurant groups, convention and exhibition organisers, event coordination, theme parks, airline companies, airport ground handling companies and cruise companies, etc.

The programme offers a wide range of internship opportunities at the international hotels, private clubs, catering organizations, convention and exhibition centres, theme parks or other relevant organizations. Students who perform well may be offered full-time positions by the related enterprises.

 

Internship at The Ritz Carlton Hong Kong

Internship at Hong Kong Disneyland

 

Mode of Study

Full Time

Teaching Mode

Face to face (Classes may need to be conducted via online platform depending on epidemic for the sake of students’ safety)

Commencement of Study

September 2021

Duration

2 Years

Location
Entry Requirements
  • Successful completion of Secondary 6 (Level 2 in 5 HKDSE subjects*#) ; or
  • Successful completion of Secondary 7 (1 pass in HKAL or 2 passes in HKAS Level subjects; and 5 passes in HKCEE*); or
  • Holder of Diploma for Tertiary Studies; or
  • Holder of Yi Jin Diploma; or
  • Holder of Pre-Associate Degree / Diploma; or
  • Aged 21 or above with at least 1 year working experience; or
  • Equivalent qualifications; And
  • Pass in admission interview.

* Including Chinese Language and English Language

# At most two Applied Learning subjects achieved a level of "Attained" or above would be considered on a case-by-case basis

Tse Jong Yan Sheung, Michelle
Currently working as a Commis II in a 2-stars Michelin French restaurant in The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
"Knowing my passion in cooking, HKCT’s teachers encouraged me to participate in mega cooking competition “Gourmet Lady Master Chefs.Global Challenge” to broaden my horizon. With the support of the college, I eventually landed an internship at the Michelin restaurant, even though the restaurant only occasionally offers internship to local students. I embarked my career as a preparation cook and, with great honour, I was promoted every year. It is concrete evidence that reflects the pluralistic nature of experiential learning in my study and proves the programme is in line with the vocational and professional education and training. "

Yeung Ka Lun, Sammy
Currently working as Front Desk Officer in Front Office Department, The Conrad Hong Kong Hotel
"The Conrad Hong Kong Hotel Time flies. I have spent 3 years in Hong Kong College of Technology and I have learnt so much in these 3 years. As a mature student who returned to school from workplace, good classmates and lecturers have helped me a lot. I have joined the ‘Work and Travel USA’ programme and I have spent my last summer holiday working in a theme park in USA, allowing me to explore more about the world and develop myself with international exposure. I have worked in Conrad Hong Kong Hotel during my placement and I am now working with Front Desk as my first hotel job after graduation."

Lee Hiu Wa, Jessica
Currently working as hostess in The Verandah, The Peninsula Hong Kong
"I learnt a lot of professional knowledge and service skills in HKCT. Now I am working in The Verandah, The Peninsula Hong Kong as a hostess. I can apply both skills and knowledge in my workplace and I really enjoy my job. I am very proud to participate in the 85th Anniversary celebration of the hotel. I believe: nothing is impossible for a willing heart; knowledge will not be acquired without pain and application."

Tam Chun Hin, Eros
Currently working as Purchasing Officer in The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
"HKCT Tourism Management programmes do not only emphasize on theories, but also through the guidance and case sharing of professional lecturers, we can learn from real industrial applications. It improves my problem-solving skills, especially in hotel daily operations."

Year 1: $54,707 Year 2: $60,145

This programme is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2021/2022 academic year, a subsidy of up to $22,050 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this non-laboratory-based programme. The first-year tuition fee after subsidy is $32,657. HKCT offers the lowest tuition fee of first year after deduction of SSSDP maximum subsidy when comparing with other institutions’ higher diploma programmes in the same discipline.

資歷架構級別
The qualification of this programme is recognised under the Qualifications Framework in Hong Kong.
QF level:4
QR Registration No.:12/000859/4
Registration Validity Period:14/5/2012 to 31/8/2023
Hong Kong College of Technology reserves the right of cancellation of programme and granting offer without prior notice.
All tuition fees are to be reviewed and adjusted every year.
This programme is subsidised under Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (SSSDP). In the 2021/2022 academic year, a subsidy of up to $22,050 per academic year will be provided to each eligible local student admitted to this non-laboratory-based programme. The first-year tuition fee after subsidy is $32,657. Only local students are eligible for the subsidy under SSSDP.

旅遊業管理高級文憑(酒店款待)

簡單課程介紹
旅遊業管理高級文憑(酒店款待), 本課程致力為有志投身酒店款待業,旅遊業,會議及展覽業的學員提供酒店款待範疇的專業訓練,為職業專才及全人發展打好基礎。本課程屬資歷架構第四級別,此外,學員亦有機會獲專業認可資格。
本課程為學員提供酒店款待範疇的專業訓練,包括模擬酒店客房、房務運作系統「Opera」及餐飲款待訓練。
專業認可資格

本校旅遊學部擁有以下認可資格:

  • 香港旅行社協會附屬會員 (HATA)
  • 英國款待學院國際教育機構會員 (IOH)
  • 亞太旅遊教育及培訓院校網絡會員 (APETIT)
課程介紹及特色

課程介紹

本課程致力為有志投身酒店款待業、旅遊業、會議及展覽業的學員提供酒店款待範疇的專業訓練,為職業專才及全人發展打好基礎。本課程屬資歷架構第四級別,此外,學員亦有機會獲專業認可資格。

本課程(非實驗室為本)已獲納入教育局的『指定專業/界別課程資助計劃』。2021/22年度入學,合資格本地學生每年可獲最高$22,050資助。

 

課程特色

  • 模擬酒店客房及房務運作系統「Opera」作實務訓練,讓學員了解運作流程
  • 餐飲訓練中心(包括綜合訓練餐廳、實習及訓練廚房、廚藝研習坊)提供專業餐飲款待訓練,加強實務運作體驗
  • 「精品咖啡協會」(SCA)認可訓練中心提供專業咖啡師訓練
  • 可安排修讀「精品咖啡協會」(SCA)之專業課程,考取專業認可資格
  • 不少於600小時的實習,讓學生從實際工作環境中學習,增加畢業後的競爭力及受聘認可性
  • 強大業界及僱主網絡,聯繫及建立平台,提升學員職涯規劃機遇
  • 課程讓學生打好基礎以便銜接相關大學課程

 

特色科目

  • 酒店前堂運作
  • 款待業管理
  • 酒店房務運作
  • 酒店客務管理
  • 餐飲服務及製作
  • 餐飲管理
  • 餐飲服務
  • 實習(不少於600 小時)

升學階梯

  • 可申請升讀英國雪菲爾哈倫大學(Sheffield Hallam University)或諾咸頓大學(The University of Northampton)或伯明翰大學學院(University College Birmingham)相關學士學位課程;
  • 可銜接到本地或海外大學修讀相關學士學位課程。

 

就業出路

可投身於各旅遊業及酒店款待相關的機構工作,包括各大旅行社、星級酒店、私人會所、餐飲集團、會議及展覽公司、項目統籌、主題公園、航空公司、機埸客運接待公司及郵輪公司等。

學生有機會被安排到各大星級酒店、私人會所、餐飲集團、會議及展覽公司、主題公園或相關機構實習。表現良好之學生,有機會獲實習機構直接聘用。

 


香港麗思卡爾頓酒店實習


香港迪士尼樂園實習

課程模式

全日制

授課形式

面授 (課堂有機會需要因應疫情而改為網上授課)

開課日期

2021年9月

修業期

2年

上課地點
入學資格
  • 中六畢業(香港中學文憑考試五科二級*#);或
  • 舊制中七畢業(高級程度會考一科高級程度科目或兩科高級補充程度科目及格;及香港中學會考五科及格*);或
  • 專科文憑畢業;或
  • 毅進文憑畢業;或
  • 副學士學位先修 / 文憑畢業;或
  • 年滿21歲或以上,及具有最少一年工作經驗;或
  • 具同等學歷;及
  • 通過入學面試。

* 包括中文、英文

# 接受最多兩科達標或以上等級的應用學習科目

池莊恩
現職於置地文華東方酒店 米芝蓮二星餐廳Amber
「在修讀高級文憑期間對酒店款待及西式廚藝的範疇有濃厚興趣,感謝學部及老師的全力支持,讓我有機會參加『環球女廚神國際挑戰賽』,透過這些學習體驗,立定志向在廚藝專業範疇發展。有幸被安排在置地文華東方酒店內的米芝蓮二星餐廳Amber實習,其後更獲得賞識得到正職工作,實踐夢想。再一次多謝學校重視職業專才教育,培育學生的應用能力,為有志進修的學生提供不同的出路。」

楊嘉麟
現為港麗酒店香港前堂部 前枱服務員
「時間過得很快,在港專3年學習中,得到的實在太多:好老師、好同學,更令我增添對讀書的興趣。港專還給予我機會參與美國Work & Travel計劃,令我大開眼界。讀書取得好成績,無非是想找份好工作,正正因為課程安排了實習,令我可以在港麗酒店展開我踏入社會大學的第一頁!」

李曉華
現為香港半島酒店 The Verandah餐廳 接待員
「我在學校學到了很多有關酒店行業的專業知識和所需的服務水平。現在,我在半島酒店擔任餐廳接待員。我很享受我的工作,因為我可以將我所學到的學以致用。另外,我亦很榮幸可以參與酒店85週年慶祝活動。我相信,只要你堅持沒有什麼是不可能的,而獲得知識是需要經歷痛苦及應用的。」

譚駿軒
現爲香港麗思卡爾頓酒店 採購部主任
「港專的課程令我感到讀書不只是紙上談兵,老師的專業及多年行內經驗,令我更容易了解行業行情。老師們的分享有助我面對工作上的各種問題, 從而令我工作更加順利。」

一年級: $54,707 二年級: $60,145

本課程(非實驗室為本)已獲納入教育局的「指定專業/界別課程資助計劃」。在2021/2022學年,合資格本地學生修讀本課程可每年獲最高$22,050的資助金額,扣除最高資助金額後的學費為$32,657。比較其他院校同類的高級文憑,港專的第一年學費最低。

資歷架構級別
本課程資歷已獲香港資歷架構認可
資歷級別:4
資歷名冊登記號碼:12/000859/4
登記有效期:14/5/2012 至 31/8/2023

香港專業進修學校將保留取消課程及最終取錄權,恕不另行通知。
學費會因應各種因素而按年作出適當調整。
本課程(非實驗室為本)已獲納入教育局的「指定專業/界別課程資助計劃」。在2021/2022學年,合資格本地學生修讀本課程可每年獲最高$22,050的資助金額,扣除最高資助金額後的學費為$32,657。 只有本地學生才合資格獲得「指定專業/界別課程資助計劃」資助。